Forum home Family life & relationships Family finances

debt & CAB - pls help

Does anybody have any Info on the help the CAB can give you for debt?? I have been trying to get out of it but feel like Im drowning in redreminders and 1 debt iv even faulted on the payment scheme as i cant afford the minimum payments. its really depressing me. I am on income support and have heard there is something that the CAB can do to help you to manage your debts? Is this true? The reason I ask is I dont want to go to the CAB with 3 kids in tow if there is definately nothing they can do. I really need some help. I am getting desperate now. I dont want bailifs knocking on my door! please help! :\(

Replies

• Elaine i just posted a reply on the other forum xx
  • Whatever you do, DO NOT use Eurodebt, I have been using them for 2 years, and was promised that my debts would be cleared after 5.. I still get court threat letters from companies Eurodebt are supposed to be paying (I pay them ??100 a month to do a job they cant seem to manage), I'm now getting phonecalls demanding a higher payment, and have just been made redundant and am going to have to claim benefits. Im amazingly low about it, and short of winning the lottery, its not going to get any better. Good luck with CAB.
  • Not sure if this will help you at all but saw Martin Lewis on GMTV this morning talking about Crisis Loans available from the Job Centre.

Here's the link for you to take a look:

http://www.gm.tv/index.cfm?articleid=33544

Hayley xx
  • Hi, you need to make sure you pay your priorty debts like rent and council tax (if they are not covered by your housing or council tax benefit) and utility bills.