Forum home Family life & relationships Family finances

Advice on CSA backdating please!

Hi,

Looking for some advice on CSA backdating. This is my first time dealing with CSA, and whilst the principle of what they do is good, the way they deal with claims seems very disorganised, and they tell me something different each time i contact them. They never ring back, and i find myself having to keep chasing them all the time.

Basically I'm a single working mum, and split with the father of my 2 young girls 12 months ago. Since then he has paid absolutely nothing. He promised to sort something out but never did. So eventually I contacted the CSA to initiate maintenance in March 2009.

The first lady I spoke to told me my claim would be backdated to the day i first contacted the CSA, the 2nd lady i spoke to a few weeks later, said it would be backdated to the date they first contacted the father, the 3rd lady i spoke to said it would only be paid from when they had completed their assessment. So which one is right, as clearly they don't seem to know themselves.

There has been 4 months between the date when i first contacted them, and when they finally contacted me to say they have completed their assessment and payments will start. However in the letter i have just received, in the backpay section, it says "zero".

Please can anyone tell me for sure exactly what date the payments should really start from?

Replies

• I understand what you mean. My husband has a case & it is often different answers + often no calls back. I worked for them years ago & a lot has changed, Keep on at them & if you feel your being fobbed off use your MP. Cases that came via MP's seemed to get dealt with fairly quickly....certainly when I was there. Good luck x