Forum home Babies Baby

Career disappointment

I always used to be really determined to have a good career. I'm an accountant and started working when I was 16 so I have been doing this for 8 years!! I'm qualified as an accounting technician and working towards being a management accountant. However since having lo I cannot stand my job or even the industry I work in. I feel like all I do is put numbers in a computer. I want to do something worthwhile and rewarding. I have no intention to get much higher as those people never go home. I went for an interview yesterday for an internal job and he told me they often work til midnight (from 7.30).

I really want to do something like teaching or social work. I'm not naive and know that people in those industries work hard too and it can be tough. I just want to feel like I actually make a difference. Does anyone else feel like me? Or has anyone made the leap and changed career? I'm considering stopping my accountancy study and doing a night or OU course which would help me get on to a social work degree.

Replies

• grr be was "unable to create a gap in the tree" what tree ffs!! :lol:

ok try again

i totally feel the same as u i left school and trained to be a nursery nurse then qualified and became a nanny and then had ds so went to work in tesco in the cash office ..i also feel like all i do is count money and tap numbers into a computer alllll day :roll: and i would really love to train to be a midwife but its impossible and not only that i cant afford to go to uni now due to the rent on our house being mahhooosive!! :lol: xx
  • yep! I worked for Lloyds TSB before having Jake but have just enrolled on an access course so I can go to uni and do teaching. Do you have A levels? A degree? x