Forum home Toddlers & older children Toddler
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Could Eczema be related to Lactose intolerance?

When my daughter was 2 weeks old she was diagnosed as being lactose intolerant. She had grown out of it by the time she was 5 months old.she wasnt on solids until she was 8 months. she is now 15 months and is eating most foods inc dairy,but she has developed what looks like Eczema. HV says its just dry skin and will go but I'm not too sure. It dose'nt seem to bother her but I noticed it seemed to be redder after she had eaten some chocolate biscuit.
Does anyone know if Eczema could be related to a lactose intolerance?

Replies

• Hi lucyanne im a mum of two and my youngest is 5 months old. She has also been diagnosed as lactose intolerance although her symptoms are mainly diarrhea and screaming (in pain). I used to be a nursery nurse and a little girl i looked after developed severe eczema after the smallest amount of dairy. Perhaps take your daughter to doctor rather than hv? I have had very little medical support and have now learnt to bypass the health visitors! Tasha x
  • Hi Tasha,
    Thanks for replying.
    how is your little girl now?
    i assume she is now on LF formula now. have her symptoms settled down ?
  • Hi Lucyanne
    Amber has Soya milk and is very settled on it. I'm not completely convinced that she's lactose intollerant (mainly since reading others experiences on this site) as am trying to wean her and have so far tried baby rice (dairy free) sweet potato and banana and she's reacted to it all. Am getting zero support from hv so have booked docs appointment but its not until sept 5th! I think the doctors diagnosed lactose intollerance as they were stumped and when soya relieved her symtoms, they just made an assumption. Hope to chat some more soon take care x
  • how old is Amber?