Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Dying Your Hair While Pregnant....?

Hi everyone,

Just your thoughts on whether it is ok to dye your hair while pregnant?

I couldn't imagine not dying my hair!!! Eeeeek!

Thank you :\) xXx

Replies

• Im sure its fine- may be avoid during the early months??
    Some one will know the answer.... lol
  • I'm not an expert but I remember Holly Willoughby having a bit of root showing when she was pregnant as they couldn't let the dye touch the scalp.
    Have you tried googling it? x
  • I dyed my hair while pg, and had an MC, but I had already started spotting blood before the hair dye, so I don't think the 2 were connected at all. tho reading that website don't think I'll dye it in first trimester next time
  • A word of warning- I died my hair as usual whilst pregnant and instead of my lovely highlights I ended up with a range of orange and yellow stripes! image
    Apparently your hair can react different....just wish I'd known before I'd had it done! lol :lol:
    x

[Modified by: MrsFozz on November 18, 2009 10:00 PM]

• LOL at MrsFozz, I'm imagining you as Tony the Tiger from the frosties adverts!! Grrrrrrreat! x
  • I know my friend dyed her hair a numerous amount of times throughout her pregnancy.... and has had no side effects from it, and she is 40+1 now and awaiting the imminent arrival!

Im not sure if the type of dye makes a difference??

xx
  • I had foil highlights at 5 weeks- the girl colouring my hair was actually 5 months pregnant (spooky) and she said as long as it doesnt touch the scalp should not be a problem at all x
  • agreed Gems! i had some foils done last time and ended up with a MC - no idea if the 2 are linked but definitely not going to next time! hence i'm being careful with my colouring now so when i do get a BFP again i don't have to worry too much!!! x