Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Are there any teachers in here?!

Hi ladies,

I'm just after some general info and advice from any teachers on here.

I have wanted to get into teaching for quite a while now. My husband has just been injured at work which is putting his career at risk (he's in the Forces) which has scared me into doing something ASAP.

I have done one year at Uni already (I studied economics ...yawn) but my husband was due to get posted so I dropped it all and have been doing the wife and Mummy thing since.

We have a daughter who will be 2 in March and are TTC again so I understand that doing a degree too will be challenging but if he leaves the Army we can move back to our home town and will have family for support.

He is looking into the police and fire brigade but the waiting lists even for interview are ridiculous.

If anyone has any advice at all, good or bad and also your experiences of teaching, it would be very much appreciated.

Thank you,

Amy xx

Replies

• Hello Amy

I did my teacher training 2 years ago (for primary school), so hopefully my advice will still be current:

You need English Maths and Science GCSE or O Level at C grade or above.
    You need a degree. If you teach secondary I believe that you also need an A level in the subject you which to teach (C grade or above) and I think your degree is meant to be related to the subject too - you might have to check that though.
    If you do a normal degree (as opposed to a BEd) you then have to do a one year teacher training course, either a PGCE or GTP.
    Once you have completed teacher training your first year of teaching is as a Newly Qualified Teacher and you carry on training during that year.