Forum home Archived Birth Clubs My baby was born in May 09
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Bed time :(

Hiya, you can probably just ignore this post, i just need to write it to get it out of my system.

I'm feeling like a really horrible mummy atm as i've just let Oliver cry himself to sleep, something i've never done before.

He's never slept through, but he was in a routine where he would fall asleep at about 7pm, and sleep till about 10-ish so i had a bit of an evening for myself and my hubby when he's around, but over the past 2 weeks, he's started waking up around 8, and then not settling untill about 10/11ish. I know he's tired, he's not hungry and he's not teething at the moment, so he's not in pain.

I've finally bit the bullet tonight and fed him, given him a cuddle and put him in his cot to settle. He cried pretty much as soon as i left the room, but i left it for 5 minutes, then went and calmed him down, and put him down, then left for 10 mins, then calmed, then left for 15 minutes, and he finally fell asleep after much kicking and crawling around his cot and crying.

Basically i feel horrible for leaving him to cry, but i have to remind myself that it's better to do it now, where he'll forget it in the morning, and not leave it until he's older when it really will upset him. I know he wont hold it against me, i just feel horrible :cry:

it's worked and he's now asleep, i've popped in a few times to check he's breathing as he's lying on his front, so i've now got my evening again (touch wood)

So yeah, no need to reply, just needed to get that out my system image

Replies

• Hey hun !