Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive

feeling hopeless. need advice please

Hey guys.
Just a background: The OH and I have been together for four years and we aren't engaged or anything yet. We are both 19.
Now I don't know why but recently I've been yearning to have a child. I know it's irrational as I'm a uni student so to get pregnant would be pretty destructive. I just can't help how I feel!
I've spoken to my boyfriend and he's broody too, but refuses to have kids until he can afford it which is a good idea. I want to hold off having kids until I'm earning, but the thing is people around me are getting pregnant left right and centre and most of them are actually younger than me, I know I shouldn't care about what people think and I don't; but seeing their young'uns is really rubbing salt in the wounds. Whenever I see them I actually get an ache in my stomach and I feel like crying.
I don't know what I'm asking for from you guys, but I don't have anybody to talk to about this so I guess I'm just after some kind words and advice. Thanks for reading. I've never felt like this before.

x B

Replies

• Sakura, its normal to feel broody when you are surrounded by beautiful babies with their proud parents especially if many of your friends are having babies.

For some people it is the right choice but it sounds like you and your boyfriend have other things you want to achieve first. You would be putting added pressure on yourself in terms of studying and your relationship if you were to have a baby now especially if your boyfriend isnt sure yet.

What i would advise you to do is find some other activities to do, Why not join a uni club or do an evening class or plan an exciting trip for your uni hols.

Also if many of your friends are pregnant or have young children you may need to widen your social circle and start mixing with other people of a similar age who dont have kids.