Forum home Family life & relationships Childcare & work
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

sum help?

does ne1 know if a degree is voided if u dont get a job in the 10 years of graduating????
i graduated in 2003 and have been told by my sister that if i dont get a job in the next 3 years then my degree will be a waste cos i cant use it. is this true? does ne1 know? pls help.....
i started a family after graduating thinking i can get a job netime after id completed my family.....but now it seems il have to find a job in the next 3 years or else!!!!

Replies

• You can't 'void' a degree darling. If you wanted to get a job that was very linked to your degree e.g. having done chemistry as a lab assistant, then yes they may think your knowledge may need brushing up (depending on how technical your degree was). But most jobs just take a degree as proof you are intelligent, have certain skills (e.g. analytical skills) and can apply yourself/work hard.
    It is also true though that a lot of jobs look for people with experience, and there is a lot of competition for 'graduate level jobs' i.e. ones which are looking for degree-level people. It would be easier to get a job that doesn't need a degree but then work your way up. Just my opinion and it really depends what your degree was in and what type of job you would be looking for.
  • ive got a biomedical science honours degree. and i did apply for jobs whilst i was pregnant with my first child, but i was either over qualified if i wanted to work my way up, or under qualified if i applied for anything else, and what i was "just rite for" i failed the interview.....cos i have 2nd class honours and not a first......
  • A degree cannot be voided - there are hundreds of people out there who've had jobs since leaving uni in fields completely unrelated to their degree, and your degree still counts.