Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive

Anti-depressants, TTC and Pregnancy

Hi ladies,

I'm a newbie here-we've just started trying for our first baby (literally since the 26th!) so we're very excited, apprehensive, all the usual emotions I would imagine.
Both of us are currently taking anti-depressants. I've been on Citalopram since October this year to help cope with some counseling I'd been having and hubby has been on his for the last 10 years but slowly weening himself off.

At the moment I feel ready to start weening myself off and it's my ultimate plan to be rid of them by the end of spring all going well, but I worry that they may impede our ability of conceive. Not just that, but if I were to fall pregnant the first time round that they may be harming my baby in the early stages.

Has anyone had any experiences of this and do you have any words of advice? My doctor (who I think is useless) has just said they would ween me off them gradually, yet the information that accompanies the pills says I shouldn't take them if I am pregnant or trying to conceive. ARGH-HELP!!!

Replies

• Hi Velvet_Quilt - I haven't taken them myself but I have a friend who has taken them and doesn't see any issues with Citalopram and conceiving.

Although, I suggest you try seeing another GP? Maybe they can suggest a more appropriate drug or atleast advise on how it could affect pregnancy.

Sorry I cudn't be anymore help!! I hope it all goes well.
    Good luck
  • hi VQ and happy new year, congrats at TTC!

I think Snuggle is right and that you should see another doctor to get a clearer picture of where you stand and what lies ahead. Hopfully it wont be too complicated and you will be getting that BFP soon.