Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive

OV sticks - please explain! x

Hi ladies,

Im not technically TTC just yet (still got to wait a little bit) but when we do I want to be armed with every bit of knowledge and advice possible so I can try and get a BFP asap!. Last time we conceived was a fluke on honeymoon, so we didnt have to look at when I was ovulating etc, so I have know idea when of how things work.

Do I get these tests from boots etc? which ones are best? how much are they? what do you do with them (i keep reading about smiley faces and peaks etc)

apologies if this has already been explained before (can someone send me the link?)

I feel really thick! The TTC journey is such a new world!

[Modified by: purplebubbles on 04 January 2010 13:41:19 ]

Replies

• Hi Purplepebbles

I just wanted to share my experience of OPKs with you.
    Over the 20 months weve been TTC, ( sadly with 2 MCs along the way), ive used numerous brands & types of OPKs & they are a bit of a mine field!!!!
    I used to find it very hard interpreting the second lines, were they positive? were they dark enough to be positive? In the end i found it too stressful so i bought Clear Blue Digital OPKs which were great as you just get a smiley face when the LH surge is detected & they come in a pack of 7 rather than the usual 5. The draw back is the price as they are very expensive,(??22.50 in boots), although you can get them a bit chaper from amazon,( about ??13).
    Due to the cost i bought some sensitive OPk strips from amazon,( got 50 for ??7.50), and found the trick was to do them later in the day, around 3-4pm when the there is more LH in the body as appose to in the morning. The results were alot more reliable & the pric eis obviously another bonus!

I hope this is of some use hun & fingers crossed you get a supersticky BFP very soon! xxxxxx
  • thank you so much for your reply PrincessStar - that really has helped!