Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive

career and family?

Im in a position where im not where i want to be yet with my career. Im a librarian but cant get a job as one as i dont have enough experience. I do lots of volunteering so that when promoted posts come up i can send in CVs but nothing yet.

I also have an admin job to get some more hours. I know that when we have a baby i wont get maternity pay for either job as i dont earn enough (literally 1 hour away from it in one job) but more importantly i know that i wont be able to volunteer or attend any conferences and will look quite bad.

How does everyone else see the whole career family thing? Are alot of people wanting to be full time stay at home Mums?

Replies

• Hi HomeFairy,

I think me personally I would love to stay at home when we have a baby but for us financially we could just not afford it and I have always liked the idea of being a 'career mum'.???? I have always wanted to work and enjoy my job and what I do as I work in admin/finance and have done for over 15 years now.So for us it will have to be a bit of both, I am hoping to be able to afford to at least drop a day but would like to drop 2 days if at the time we can afford it but my dh is self employed and sometimes he has no work so money can be tight for us at times.xx
  • i know we couldnt afford for me to stay at home, but then again with two part time jobs as i have it wouldnt make sense. My dream position would be a full time job,even if it meant we were only slightly better off with me working after nursery.

Do you have family who could take care of your LO, or would your DH work around your hours at work?

• Hi HF,

My mam thank god because we couldnt afford to pay for childcare.