Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive

new job but really want to start trying...

HI , just as it says really. I am a teacher and have started a new job in January. We had already decided that our TTC date would be June 2010 but we have discussed starting earlier but if we were lucky enough to fall pg. in the first month or two my worry would be telling work!
Anyone been in same situation or any advice? Does a couple of months make much difference?

Replies

• hey g/c from pregnancy- if you see my other topics you'll see I havent told my work yet and I'm scared to lol- I started in August and feel pg in October- I'm now 15+4 weeks and planning to tell them after my 20 week scan- tehnically they're not allowed to have a reaction either way but I do feel guilty- I didnt think I'd fall so quick (though definately over the moon!!) I know I havent really helped but I'm kinda in the same boat x
  • I know what you mean about guilt. I feel awful just thinking about telling my boss I am preg. I so want to start trying now but this is holding me back! My OH wants to start trying next month and I would love to as well and I know that it is highly unlikly I would be lucky enough to become preg. right away but the guilt of telling work keeps spinning around in my head!
  • I think I just decided I didnt know how long it would take so didnt want to put my life on hold- you might be lucky and fall quick but if it takes a while you might get frustrated that you held off- I think our child bearing years are short in comparison with our working life that will always be there- I think if there's such a thing as reincarnation I'm coming back a man- they have it so easy- their bosses arent fussed either way lol x
  • Hi michmummy - I'm sure you have to tell your employers before you are 15 weeks gone. Have you read ur employee handbook? May be different elsewhere but thats what i have read on direct.gov and thats the rules at my workplace.