Forum home General Chat General chat

Help at home - am i being unreasonable expecting the kids to help out?

Hi my name's Sarah and I'm new to all of this.

I just wanted to get some opinions without posting in social media.

I currently live with my partner, my daughter 12 and my son 10 months and we had his two boys 9 and 12 some nights in the week and every weekend Friday to Sunday.

My question really is...am I being unreasonable expecting all the kids to help out a bit when it comes to the house. I don't mean big chores there my job I mean putting there rubbish in the bin and picking up after themselves a bit maybe even on the odd occasion hanging up there washing.

I work as well as a housekeeper and I'm in the process of changing beck to a caring job 30+ hours a week so have training and such on my days off.

The house is really getting me down though as I spend 2 full day's cleaning it for it to end up a total tip again at the weekend, as I'm spending all of my days off tidying etc I never get a chance to catch up with friends or just relax and enjoy my little one. 

My partner does do bit like washing and ironing at the weekend but with regards the house isn't at all bothered so his solution would be to leave it all together which with a baby would be hard going as he is forever eating the older ones Lego and sweet wrappers etc so spend half of my day saying no!

What's everyone else's thoughts am I being unreasonable? X

Replies

• firstly I just want you know I know EXACTLY how you feel !!! I have two girls 8 and 11 and my 9 month old son , I am forever running around the house picking little bits of the floor putting the girls things up out the way , they seem to find it impossible to put their rubbish in the bin and whenever I ask “ who’s is this “ they then argue about it and blame one another .