Forum home Getting pregnant IVF & assisted conceptions
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

About to start ICSI for first time...

Hi,

Waiting to go through ICSI and feeling a little confused about it all!
Just want to get started but a little anxious of what's ahead of us - there seems to be so many needles, scans and drugs.
Be great to get chatting to anyone else who is going through this or has been through it already. Would love to hear from you!

J
x
:\?

Replies

• Hi JaJo, how you feel is completely hormonal... it is a complete head rush to start off. When do you actually start?
    I am currently in the down reg part of the long part of it, I hopefully start stimms next friday if I am fully suppressed by then. It is my first attempt (and hopefully my last!) so completely understand how nervous you are.
    xxx
  • hiya i have just been through my 2nd round of ivf we didnt have icsi but the protocols are the same, it is all very alarming to start with so much to take in but believe me within a couple of days it all falls into place, the injections are nowhere near as bad as you first think (the hormones can turn you into a raging psycho though ) lol, if you have any questions fell free to ask away, by the way i got a bfp on the 26th jan

yazz x
  • Thanks for getting back to me girls, it's great to hear from you and congratulations Yazz on your wonderful news, you must be delighted!
    I'm not too familiar with the exact order of everything yet as we're still at the stage of filling in forms, but I have to call on the first day of my next period which should be about 18 -20 days from now, then they will bring me in for my first injection on day 21. It's a few weeks off yet, but looks like it'll be Easter time.
    Worried about the hormones as my PMS is bad enough!!
  • Hi, went through IVF with ICSI in 2008 and was lucky to concive first time, I highly reccommend the treatment.