Forum home Getting pregnant IVF & assisted conceptions

Being advised to wait 3 months now!

Afternoon ladies.

I have just had a call from the clinic and they have told me that they are now recommending that I have 3 AFs before starting a natural FET cycle following us abandoning our last cycle after EC due to OHSS which never happened. This seems totally ridiculous to me. I understand that there needs to be a 3 month gap between full IVF cycles as you are taking more drugs but I won't even be having any drugs this time so why wait?! We were thinking of waiting for a full cycle after my AF comes now but to wait another one as well seems a bit over cautious. What do you guys think? Have you had any experience of this?

Thanks for your help xx

Replies

• Debbie, I have no experience or knowledge of this, but I am gutted for you! Its hard enough to wait one month, never mind 3!!! Who did you speak to at the clinic? If it was a nurse, it would maybe be worth phoning to speak to the consultant so he/she can explain EXACTLY why. They are probably wanting to make sure your in the best position physically and 'inside' for the embryos, but it does seem rather a long time! Medically, it probably is the best way to do it, but you are the patient who is waiting and waiting and waiting, IVF is hard as it is, so they need to take your needs and concerns into consideration too. You have lots of embryo's, so it may be worth gambling, and going sooner with a few of the embies. Talk to them in full and work out the options and chances, then you can make a decision. Oh hun, I wish I could wave a magic wand xxx