Forum home Pregnancy Labour & birth
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Stitches versus staples

I'm scheduled for a csection in 2 weeks time, and have been pulling together a csec birth plan. I've read that you can either have stitches or staples as part of the operation. Does anyone have any experiences of either?

I'm a bit confused as to what the pros and cons of each method are!

Thanks x

Replies

• Hi,

I have no experience of both but I had dissolvable stitches and they left a very neat scar and it didn't ever feel overly tight or restrictive in the first few days.

My obstetrician only works with dissolvable stitches.

• I can only say what I had which was like a long nylon stitch (I still have it!) with a ballbearing (!) on each end! It was pulled out by the midwife on day 5 or 10 (I forget which) and it was brilliant - I healed perfectly x
  • I had the same as KayCee_and_Co. Its brilliant, was very impressed with it all! Came out very easily, and left almost no sign of a scar, have to really look closely for a very thin silvery line!!! And I had no problems with healing! At our local hospital, it depends what surgeon performs your c-section as to what kind of stitches or staples you get. Had I my consultant I would have got staples, but with having an emergency section, he wasn't on call that day!

Jo xx
  • I would definitley ask for stiches. I actually had steri strips on the outside and dissolvables on the inside. I am 4 weeks post CS today and all seems to be healing great!
  • oops double x
  • its usually consultant preference and most prefer stitches as its neater, i had stiches and have a very neat scar x
  • I had staples with my EMCS and i healed really well and can now hardly see my scar at all! x