Forum home Pregnancy Labour & birth
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Arnica Tablets and tee tree oil advice!

Hi, hoping someone can help!

I'm wanting to buy some arnica tablets to put into my hospital bag to help with bruising after the birth but not sure the strenght needed! You can buy them in 6c or 20c doses! Also would you start taking them on the run up to your due date or just after you've had your LO?

Also wanting to buy some tee tree oil as heard it can be healing and soothing if you put it on your maternity pad after you've had LO but I was wondering would it be worth investing in some tee tree oil cream incase you have a c-sec to use on the scar?

All advice appreciated!
Becky
Xxx

Replies

• hiya
    Im planning on taking arnica about a week before my due date and the low dosage. The only experience I have of arnica is that im a dentist that places implants. This is a surgery for the patient so i get them to take arnica for 1 week before surgery and a few days after. In my opinion it does reduce swelling and bruising, as people that dont take my advice and take it tend to be the ones that bruise.
    I hope this helps you.
    xx
  • I took arnica tablets (not sure which strength) with DD1 but I didn't start taking them until the first signs of labour??? and carried on for a couple of days afterwards.

I didn't feel bruised or sore afterwards (natural labour) so certainly think they worked xxx