Forum home Pregnancy Labour & birth
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

SO SCARED!!!!!!

2»

Replies

• Options
    Hi.. hello-mumma.. How many weeks are you. Im a midwife and dont tend to start discussing the labour and birth until the third trimester. So later in the pregnancy around 32 weeks. However, the pregnancy classes are really good, as they often show you videos of women giving birth and having a CS. When I discuss the labour and birth to women, I like to use a doll as I go through the entire process from when the contractions begin to the time of birth. So I try to help women understand what is happeing to their body during these times and what their baby is doing. There are so many fantastic postions for labour which help with the pain. Getting your hubby to massage you is great as many women often have alot of back pain. Standing and walking around is good, as it helps brignt eh baby's head down into the pelvis, thus increasing the pace of the birth. Also, try getting into the shower and use heat packs, they are also very usefull. Make sure you drink lts of water as you will get very dry in the mouth and throat. Go to the hospital when in labour in a postive mindframe, forgetting the pain and remembering that at the end you will have a beautiful little baby. I wont lie, yes the pain is quite bad, this speaking from expereince of other women as Im only pregnant with my first now. But like I said try to do all those things and it will help, trust me. Also, the gas is very good. Many women use just the gas and they are fine. Pethidine, unfortunately has harmful afects towards the baby and often wipes the women out, leaving them dopy and drugged. It can aslo knock off your contractions, that is slow down your labour. It does ease the pain or take the edge of it, but the other methods are far better. An epedirual does obviously take the pain away, but thats not the best optio