Forum home Getting pregnant Long term TTC & infertility
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

A HSG question

Hi ladies.

I have my HSG soon. I have told my boss its pending. She asked if I was out for a part day or if I'd be needing a whole one so she can sort out cover for my class. She's very nice and I'd regard her as a friend (she's heard lots of whining from me about this TTC journey over Friday drinks) so I don't mind being upfront about it all with her. Can anyone tell me what the answer is? Will it be a part day or a full day job? Will I feel up to work afterwards. As you've probably guessed I'm a teacher (to my lovely 4 year olds with special needs) so sometimes a little physical. Thanks for reading. BBBB

xXx

Replies

• When I had mine I probably could have gone back to work but I didn't! I'd personally ask for the day just in case.

It wasn't as bad as I was expecting and the only bit that hurt was when the dye went in and it was about 30 seconds of instand and intense period pains but it goes instantly once it had flushed through.

One bit of advice, do not have sex after your period before the hsg or they will refuse to do it in case there is a chance you're pregnant (ironic I know) xxx
  • I took pain relief and went straight into work afterwards. But I work in a small place and everyone knows what is going on, so I could whinge away! But I only had af-type twinges. Good luck x
  • I went back to work too hun, took painkillers and carried on working at the hospital!
  • Thanks everyone. I think I will try to get back in to work afterwards. I'll need enough time off soon if it turns out we need treatment image

I have horrendous AFs anyway so I expect nobody will notice if I can't stand up and look as white as a ghost anyway :lol: