Forum home Getting pregnant Long term TTC & infertility
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Starting my treatment journey

Hi everyone.

I'm new to this, so please bear with me.

My fiancé and I have been ttc for about 18 months, without success. I was diagnosed with endometriosis earlier last year, and had a surgery for it last summer but it didn't help. We were referred to an infertility clinic in October this year (why are they always in the same place as maternity units?!). My fiancé has had all of his tests, and they came back great. I've had my bloods done (fine), an internal/external ultrasound which found evidence of endo and adenomyosis, and a Hysterosalpingogram which came back clear. We've got an appointment at the clinic on Monday to discuss treatment options. 

My friend is fostering an adorable little girl, and we look after her sometimes to give my friend a break. I love looking after her, because it means I get to be a mum for an afternoon, but I feel so down when we have to hand her back. The house feels so empty and quiet. To be honest, I've never been particularly hung up on whether or not the child I raise is mine biologically, and we'd adopt her in an instant if we could, but that will never happen because we're years away from being able to apply. It's going to be devastating when she returns to her biological parents or is adopted. To make it worse, my friend keeps making comments about how good I am with the little girl and when are we going to try for our own family. I'm close to her, but not enough to want to tell her what we're going through.