Forum home Pregnancy Miscarriage & pregnancy loss
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

Could you be fertile after a miscarriage?

Sorry, this is my first time posting on Baby Expert.

My Husband & got married at the end of August and decided that we'd try for a baby - in our own way we'd 'wing' it. Not get too stressed about trying but not use any protection.

Unfortunately I had a miscarriage just over 3 weeks ago. We'd only found out on the Friday and the following Sunday evening I started to get cramp like pains in my stomach. The GP was great when I rang on the Monday morning and got me an emergency appointment at the hopsital that Thursday.
Unfortunately we'd miscarried. The Doctor at the hospital said that we were ok as test was negative so everything had been removed.

I was just wondering if its possible to be fertile straight after a MC?

The reason I ask is that I'm bleeding but its not turned into a normal period.

I'm sure I've just asked the stupidest question but if anyone has an answer.

Thanks

Replies

• Options
    HI

REALLY SORRY FOR YOUR LOSS, I ALSO HAD A MISCARRIAGE 6 WEEKS AGO.

THE DOCTOR AT THE HOSPITAL TOLD US THAT YOU ARE AT YOUR MOST FERTILE AFTER A MISCARRIAGE.

I BLED FOR AROUND 7 DAYS THEN IT WAS ANOTHER 5 WEEKS UNTIL I HAD MY FIRST PERIOD.

HOPE THIS HELPS, IF YOU NEED TO KNOW ANYTHING ELSE JUST ASK.

TAKE CARE
    CHRISTINE X
  • Options
    Thanks Christine.

That's really helpful.

We'll see if I'm having a normal period.

• Options
    Wow - 2 weeks after.

How long did it take you to realise and did you POAS after that 2wks?
    I don't want to check yet - not sure that any hormone would be there or to tempt fate
  • Options