Forum home Archived Birth Clubs My baby was born in Aug 09
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

FAO Bets

Hello my dear,

I know you're in the full swing of planning Issy's 1st birthday and have some fab ideas that I'm likely to steal (sorry) but i need your help!!

Obviously Harrison has a dairy allergy. I've tried making a few dairy free birthday cakes but I'm a crap baker and they taste rank!! So I bought a couple of dairy free sponges from asda, tesco, and sainsburys to try and they're fine. So my question is how the hell do I ice them? Where do i get the stuff I need from and make it look decent?
Its only a small size spong cake just for him really - everyone else is having chocolate cake but I want him to have a special cake and its driving me mad!!
I went to our local cake shop and they said they cant make me one for fear of cross contamination!! And said they'd charge me ??25 to decorate a small cake - I feel this is a rip off? What do you think?

Cheers.

Lisa xxx

Replies

• Hey hun, steal away!

I am going to try and put an image of Isabelle's birthday inveites on facebook, our ladybug theme has morphed into a garden bug ball for the babies!

I am not bothering with adult food for later as there could be 70 there, so I am just making 4 big cakes and decorating them all the same.

I would get a book out of the library and pick a theme you want to go with, perhaps even cut the sponge into shapes so you can make a built cak if you are feeling really adventurous, ??25 sounds vey steep just to decorate when you can do the job yourself with a couple of cutters, ready to roll icing and some food colouring!

How about cutting Harrison's name out with letters and standing these in a cake you have topped with soya buttercream (soya spead makes this thinner so just omit the tbs milk and do 200g marg to 500g icing sugar)