Forum home Archived Birth Clubs My baby was born in Dec 07
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

discipline

Ive been meaning to put this to you all for a while. Obviously all the dec babies are into everything at this age but i was wondering how much you all tell your little ones 'no' or how you discipline them. Obviously i dont mean punishments lol, but im not sure how much i should be ignoring negative behaviour at this age, or if i should be saying no or what! Also, does it matter if they totally ignore you. Just some advice/opinions really, lol. Thanks x

Replies

• I have been saying 'NO' in a firm voice since LO was 6 months old and he does know what it means. If he's in a difiant mood he will do it anyway but most of the time he stops.. If he does carry on I remove the item or him from the situation. If he tries to have a paddy we turn our backs and ignore him and pick him up when he stops.. He went through a particulary bad stage at 11 months and we did this and within a week we had reduced the behaviour I'd say by at least 80%.

he even sometimes goes to touch something and then gives this funny little shake with his arms as if he can hear us in his head saying no!

• I've been wondering about the same thing. We've been saying no to Ollie for a while and he understands, but is ignoring us more and more now. He even looks me in the eye while he carries on doing whatever it is - cheeky monkey! At what stage does it stop being cheeky and start being naughty? Is it a case of just persevering with saying no? It's not like you can do anything else really is it, they are too young to understand any sort of punishment.
    He did start having tantrums a while back, but we just either ignored it or layed him on the floor to kick and scream and stepped away for a moment. It seems to have done the trick as we don't get them often now.