Forum home› Archived Birth Clubs› My baby was born in Dec 2010
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

First AF after having baby - is this normal?

Hi ladies

**TMI ALERT**

If you are squeamish please do not read the rest of this post.

I have just started my first AF after having DS2 6 and a half weeks ago and it's as heavy as the blood loss when I had him! I can feel it coming out and it gets worse the more I move about. My lady garden is aching like someone has kicked me in it repeatedly for several hours and I have bad stomach ache as well. I just went for a bath and had to get out after 5 minutes as I started bleeding in the bath, which I have never done before.

Is all this normal? I don't remember it being this bad after DS1. It is literally the same amount of blood as I was losing after I gave birth and I'm having to double up maternity pads in my pants!

I'm going to docs tomorrow for a different issue so will mention the bleeding, but just wanted to know if anyone else has been this bad as I am getting a bit worried.

Thank you, and really sorry for the TMI.

Sam, Harrison & Daniel

xxxxx

Replies

• Options
    Have you been over doing things lately?

Your periods will be different after having a baby, they could be better, could be worse (mine got a lot better after having Abby) but also it could be more of the lochia (if you have been over doing things).

Have you had your 6 week check yet? It might be worth giving your MW a ring and asking them what they think, it is possible to have a PPH (post partum hemorage - sp?) 6 weeks after the birth, so if you are losing a lot of blood (it sounds like you are) then it might be worth getting checked over, just in case.

Sorry that's not much help.

hope you feel better soon. Hugs.

nx
  • Options