Forum home Archived Birth Clubs My baby was born in Dec 2011
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

GTT?

I have been told by the midwife that due to ds being 10lbs 13onz, I have to have the gtt test at 28 weeks. Is anyone else having this?

More confusingly, I saw her yesterday and she said as I haven't had a letter through to have the test it was now my responsability to arrange it as she has other things to worry about. LOL! I love the midwives in my area... have I mentioned image... So I called the hospital and tried to arrange an appointment to be told off by a lady who said women could not just decide to have tests done, that only midwives can arrange tests, ect...

So my question is, I didn't have diabetes in my pregnancy with ds, so do I really need to worry this pregnancy. I apprecaite every pregnancy is different, but if this midwife thinks she is busy... well I am doing a masters degree, working 3 jobs, and taking care of four children, I don't have time to fight with hospital staff and moody midwives. :roll:

Replies

• Options
    That is disgusting, it is the midwifes responsibilty to book ALL tests. I have had to have 2 GTT's (due to high BMI) The drink is vial, but thats about the only painful part, lol. I would have it done hun, as My friend had a perfectly healthy first pregnance, but did develope Gestational Diabetes in her second pregnancy.

HTH xx
  • Options
    I had mine booked by my midwife too and have another coming up due to high BMI. The drink is grim and LO went a bit mad jumping all over the place last time!

I think its worth doing as if it is an issue it will be monitored and controlled which is better for LO.

Mooomin x
  • Options