Forum home Archived Birth Clubs My baby was born in Jul 2012
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

How close to your due date are you working?

Hiya,

How close to your due date are you working (or id you work to previously?).

I am currently trying to determine this with work. I was going to take 2 weeks holiday then 2 week maternity before my due date but im thinking I could do with the money and maybe take 2 weeks holiday before my due date and start maternity the day before im due.

What are you all doing?

thanks,

xxx

Replies

• I think it depends what your job involves. I worked until 36 weeks but I am a Drama teacher so my job was very active and tough going. I started to get very achy even though I didnt have a very big bump and felt 'ready' at 36 weeks. However, if i'd still been in a previous job that involved sitting at a desk I think I would have managed to get to 38 weeks. I honestly found the first 2 weeks of maternity leave thoroughly boring. All I did was clean because I was convinced that the baby would come. At 38 weeks I was ready to slow down. However, my hubby is also a teacher so when the summer holidays arrived when I hit 39 weeks we went out almost every day and he walked me into the ground! I went into slow labour - had a week of contractions starting and stopping before delivering at 41 weeks. Typically, by that time my house was a mess because hubby had been home for two weeks! I think what I am trying to say is that you might find that you fill your time at home doing just as much as you would at work. Just make sure everything is ready for baby (hospital bag etc) and you have someone who will go to your house and do a good old tidy whilst you are in hospital, so that when you come home you can just relax and get to know your newborn xx