Forum home› Archived Birth Clubs› My baby was born in July 2011
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

hospital discharging time

I was wondering if the discharge time that they aim for in hospitals is the same everywhere?

Here it is max six hours if birth is normal and I am a bit worried that that is too soon mainly if I want to get some advice on breast feeding and perhaps other little things?

Anybody else a bit worried about those short times? Are those times different in MW led units?

Replies

• Options
    Hi I'm a midwife and just to reassure you, you don't have to leave after 6 hours. A lot of women do want a 6 hour discharge but not many breastfeeders do, especially if it's your first baby. You may get offered a 6 hour discharge but you are given the option to go to the ward. I can obviously only speak for where I work but I can't imagine many places would discharge first time breastfeeders after 6 hours. I have no idea about midwifery led units but I would think they too would be supportive. I certainly have no intention of going home after 6 hours! Ha ha xx
  • Options
    Hi, remembering my first pregnancy, I was given the choice of go home or stay on the ward. I chose to go home (largely due to a long labour and wanting my own bed) but had no fears about breastfeeding as was armed with at least 5 different telephone numbers from local midwives to nhs direct to local support group network for breastfeeding mums handed over by the midwives with my discharge paperwork. I'm sure you'll be given the help and support you need when the time arrives.
  • Options
    I think a lot of women want to go home soon because your husband/partner can't stay with you on the ward. And the food is better lols!
  • Options
    thanks for the replies

LOL at the food comment sabbath_cat