Forum home› Archived Birth Clubs› My baby was born in May 2011
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Massive feet

Anyone else got swollen feet and ankles?

I am a teacher so on my feet all day so thought that is it. So on Saturday I bought some soft leather, flat shoes, and on Monday they were still swollen after school.

Today I woke-up and they were swollen. How could they be swollen when I have been chilling on the settee in the evening and then sleeping?? Is that a problem?

any remedies?

and anyone else with massive feet?

Jo x

Replies

• its called oedema (sp?) and its because your on your feet all day bless you! my feet went mahoooosive with dd1 but as im a SAHM now i try and sit as much as i can!

they were soo big last time my hubby called me "shrek" as they looked like ogre feet! what a delightful man. lol

remedies.. massage!! massage the water back up your leg, rub from your feet up, whenever you get the chance! and be warned, my feet got even bigger once dd was actually born :roll:
  • Cool soaks and then get them raised - you're meant to do it for half hour each day and your ankles have to be higher than your heart apparently. Not tried the massage thing but sounds like it will help as well. And yes, mention it to your mw as it can be a sign of other things - but please dont worry as its most likely not! Everything gets bigger when you're pregnant!! lol xx
  • that must be it then... i must have oedema in my arse! :lol:
  • I got it in my last pg, nothing yet but we'll see.

Just try to raise them as much as possible and do the other things the girls have said. I could only wear elasticated shoes by the end !
  • hahaha!! lucyah!! very witty

my friends sister had this hun and the advice was to raise them, like someone said before ankles above heart x
  • I am now the proud owner of cankles image