Forum home Archived Birth Clubs My baby was born in May 2011
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Is it wrong to feel a bit miffed - am I acting spoilt ??

I leave work in 30 mins for maternity leave.

Every single pregnant woman before me who has left to go on mat leave whether for 1st baby or 3rd baby has had a big leaving presentation and presents. Me.....i've got nothing. Office manager took me into her office to sign the leavers form and handed me a cheap card that half the office havent even signed, and then said "i'll give you this now so there's no fuss".

I feel really quite hurt by it, like i'm not as important as the half dozen other pg women who have left since i've been working for this office (6 years) and quite frankly a bit miffed !!

Does that make me sound like a spoilt brat ??

Replies

• No it doesn't at all hun. I'd feel exactly the same!! I know its not like your greedy and want the presents but if everyone else got something and had a big fuss then why shouldnt you?! It would make me feel quite upset so don't worry, you're definitelt not sounding spoilt to me!

xx

http://lmtf.lilypie.com/lXGQp1.png

• I agree with hayulz, your going to feel left out if other ladies have been given gifts, I know I would,

try to rise above them hun, babies always get spoilt when they are born anyway ! image
  • Thanks, the card isnt even a baby one. Its looks like one thats come out of a set. Some old granny style painting of a vase.

Just feel rather hurt I must say. :cry:image:cry:
  • Ahh, that sounds very unfair. I would feel the same! Oh well at least you know you won't be going back and will be spending your time with the two people who really matter - your babies! x
  • Totally justified, I'll be gutted if they don't give me a good send off especially considering how many i have arranged. It's totally wrong - sounds like you're best off out of there hun.