Forum home› Archived Birth Clubs› My baby was born in Nov 09
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

O/T Breeding dogs

Strange topic but suppose it keeps with the theme of pregnancy ladies lol

Has anyone got experience at breeding dogs? We have a 3 (nearly 4) year old Shih Tzu & my dad has a puppy male one (8wks) from a different family & we were thinking of breeding the 2 once the male one is old enough.

I just wanted some adice about how old he should be to let him breed & what I would need to do for my female once she was pregnant, during pregnancy, at the birth & after. Also what are the first 8wks like after the birth? what would I need to do to help her?

Any advice or tips would be great

Thanks
Stacey

Replies

• Hiya, I have extensive experience in breeding and showing dogs and should be able to answer a few of your questions, provided Adam stays asleep lol. Fistly, you should think really hard about this as it is really not the easiest task in the world lol. Its not a case of just putting 2 dogs together and they have babies and they go to forever homes.