Forum home Archived Birth Clubs My baby was born in Sept 2011
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Pay cheques!

It's getting scary reading the posts about going on mat leave. Got paid early this week and have just realised; only 2 more full pay cheques until maternity pay kicks in!

We struggle to live off 2 full wages (terrible with money) so really need to get a$$ in gear and save some now.

Anyone else panicking? x

Replies

• we always panic about money but we always get by... am focusing on DH, DS and bean 2!
  • Ah bless you.

I work as an analyst so in true ANAL-yst style I have a budget on a spreadsheet! :lol:

It looks at what will be coming in and what is coming in now versus what we spend. The I put down everything where we can save and all of the new baby expenses for day to day living which I suspect increase as he starts needing solid food and more and bigger nappies etc.

Its tight but we should be ok and its helped us to see how long we can afford on maternity leave.

We still need to sell one of the cars and I'm conscious that yes there are only 2 more full pay days left for me so we want to get it sorted soon!

It really does feel like time is flying but I think I'm more panicked that we won't finish our DIY and we'll bring baby home to piles of dust!image
  • Yep....one pay day left for me.....then trying to live off about ??70 a week for 9 weeks, we will cope though, we always do. Selling things on ebay to make some pennies. Keep smiling hun, it will all work out x
  • DH & I have gone from 2 full pay packets to 1 full pay packet & SMP to just 1 full pay packet. You learn to adapt your spending with what you have available and, like torch says, there's always the option of bringing in extra cash by selling those old unused items on ebay or local car boot sales.