Forum home Babies Postnatal depression

motivation needed!!

Hi.. I've been on anti-ds for about 6 weeks now and I'm not showing any real signs of improving apart from the fact I haven't been able to cry even though I've wanted to. I've been seeing my doc and my hv every week but I think they are starting to lose patience with me.....

The doc said today that I need to give myself a very big kick up the backside and I know shes right but how do I go about doing that when I have no enthusiasm for anything at the mo. :cry:

This sounds really vain but I've put on a ton of weight and I feel too embarassed to go out - I feel everyone is going to look at me and think what a fat cow I am.... but it still doesn't stop me from eating and staying in - which of course isn't helping. Before I had my 2 youngest I was a fit teacher who was constantly active with a good social life - now I'm about 4 stone over weight and I never go anywhere. Help!!!

Has anyone got any tips to help me please. Thank you xx

Replies

• I need some too. I am starting to feel lots better as in I am starting to feel more normal now and happier (think am coming to terms with all the changes I struggled with.) But I need to get out and do things with myself. I've always been overweight but cause of all the jellyness and stretchmarks it really bothers me now. Never really did befor. Everywhere I seem to look is full of really glamorous Mum's and I just feel a mess.
    Although i feel better in myself I still feel like going out is a huge effort and I keep putting off doing things. Sorry i've just rambled and not offering much help.