Forum home Babies Postnatal depression
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Only the lonely...

First time ever posting in a forum and I am new to MadeforMums but wanted to share how I have been feeling lately to see if there is anyone else out there experiencing something similar...

I had a gorgeous little baby boy in Feb 2016 and the pregnancy and labour (natural) all went fine but about 2 months afterwards, I started to feel the familiar low-ness I had felt when I had my first born 2 years earlier.

This time I have picked up on the signs as has my husband, so we are trying together to make sure we talk as much as possible to keep it from spiralling like it did last time. 

I have tried baby groups, but other mums seem to be super cliquey with others their own age (I'm 35) and I just feel like I am asking the same old questions "how old is your baby, are they teething and seems to me I am always the one asking - like a loner lol. I tried the baby groups (sensory etc) with my now toddler and again they were so cliquey - if you didn't live in the right postcode, you weren't part of the bunch of mums who hung out in between the baby classes. Health visitor said I should try local community groups, but they break for the summer holidays in a matter of weeks and don;t start up again until September.

Have joined the gym in an effort to get the happy endorphin's going, and mentioned my blues tot he health visitor when she last came who will try and set up some CBT sessions with me.

I hate being a moaner, given I have a lovely baby and a toddler, but the loneliness is  dreadful, sometimes I know that on the days my toddler is at nursery, I will probably go hours and hours without talking to anyone face to face (other than chatting to people in our local Tesco and on our high street etc.)

Anyone experiencing anything similar or have any advice?

S

x

Replies