Forum home Babies Postnatal depression
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Postnatal Depression - Looking for support

Hey there, 

I'm Lizzie and I am just trying to reach out to some other women who are suffering with postnatal depression or who have beaten it. My daughter is 2 and a half and I am still struggling. I am worried that I am never going to get past this. How long could it possibly last? 

I am on medication and I see 2 Psychiatrists and a Psychologist. I have been through many medication changes and have had TMS. I am stable enough that I don't need ECT but I don't really want to go down that road as it might end up effecting my job. It's terrible, I work in the health care industry and I believe that if people know what is wrong with me they might use it against me (could just be my crazy thought too). 

It has been going on since day one really and there are quite a few factors that have lead to what I guess is a prolonged recovery, but I just want to know if there is an end to this? I can't seem to see it and it is destroying my relationship with my beautiful family.

Anyone in a similar boat? Or anyone who had postnatal depression for a while before getting better? Just needing some support.

Replies

• It's very hard to tell about how long it will last and what you can do to help yourself without knowing basic information about your pregnancy,labour and delivery and general situation in your family.if you want you can PM me and I will try to help
  • Hi Lizzie 
    Sound like you've had a range of treatment options professionally.  
    Are your family and friends supportive and helpful? Or too helpful?