Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Missing work for morning sickness or not? Overriding guilt!

Hello

I am 8 weeks pregnant with my first baby and have had the most horrendous nausea/vomiting for the last 3 weeks. If it was just the nausea and sickness I could cope, but I'm so dizzy and exhausted all the time - to the point where I struggle to do everyday things, like even take a shower. I have also been crying everyday, over the stupidest things. This isn't like me at all, and I feel so isolated and out of my depth.

I'm a teacher, and have coped so far as have been on school holidays, but I'm supposed to be going back to work in 4 days. At the moment, I'm either in bed or hugging the toilet, so I don't know what to do about work. It's the start of the school year, so my employer would never forgive me for missing the start of term. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Replies

• Hmmm, it's so difficult but you have to put your own health first. If you feel like s**t and you're body is screaming at you to rest then that's exactly what you should do.

I'm assuming your employer doesn't yet know you're pregnant? I was in a similar state to you in the early days with my DD and my GP was amazing. He put 'severe gastroenteritis' on a sick note and signed me off for two weeks. After I had told work he just put 'pregnancy related' and they couldn't argue about it.

Once they know you're pregnant it all gets a bit easier because they can't be annoyed with you for being off sick - well they can but not overtly. Maybe you should tell your Head, you might find they're more understanding than you think.

Good luck and look after yourself!

Mrs B xxx
  • Mrs B,