Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

Ideas/help for negotiating mat pay?

124»

Replies

• DumbleSpud

AutumnRose

I think some of the replies have perhaps been a tad harsh on counter! Whenever someone asks on here about starting a new job when TTC everyone always says go for it as you don't know how long things will take. Timing isn't always perfect, that's life!

I think there is no harm in asking. I work in the independent sector and only get SMP, if i worked in the state sector in exactly the same job i'd have had an enhanced package (and no my salary isn't higher that it would be in state sector). My friend and i were pregnant with our first children together and so went to see our boss to ask her about this. We didn't get anywhere but it didn't cause any ill-will and she understood why we would ask.

Counter i think your best options are to 1. research the industry standard and see if that might give you a negotiating possibility or 2. discuss a performance related bonus based on your work so far.

Totally agree with this. 

quite. It's like people are saying "how DARE someone ask for more than they are due!"  I have no problem with someone attempting to negotiate additional maternity pay, but I'm just not sure counter's in the best position.

i actually think BG's suggestion of a performance related bonus is much better as if counter is performing as she says, she should achieve this every year, plus this will have a longer lasting effect on the family's income. 

• Wowsers what a lovely bunch of gals we have here on the BT board!

Counter I think BG's suggestion of a performance related bonus is your best option. May I ask why you aren't receiving one now but everyone else is?