Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Talk to me about Homebirths...

Seeing Horsefan's BA has made me start considering my birth options this time round. After a v v quick labour/birth 1st time round (thankfully smooth) I am tempted to try a homebirth this time round, especially as we have moved and now live further from the nearest hospital (if we had a repeat of O I wouldn't make it there!) I am aware of that complications/need for stitching would mean a transfer to hospital but can you tell me about your homebirths if you had one, and pros and cons to consider? TI

Replies

• Hi Coco - I have no experience of this as still growing our first one, but I would never consider a home birth as my mum's story scares me.  My mum has my oldest sister, and then me and both times straight forward, easy, stress-free births.  Her third, my little brother, was born with the umbilical cord around his neck, blue and not breathing and was resuscitated by machines/a couple of doctors and put on a breathing machine and was absolutely fine.  However, had she not been at the hopsital with all that on hand.....   that was 26 years ago but enough to put me off.  Sorry for the negativity.

• I'm considering one, maybe. But only because I am less than 10 mins from the nearest hospital on blue lights. I wouldn't consider it if I lived further away.