Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

Natural family planning

Hi all. I was just wondering if anyone has succesfully used 'natural family planning' as a contraceptive as I'm thinking of giving it a try. I already have two daughters, the youngest was born in march this year. I'm on the mini-pill (as I'm breastfeeding) at the moment and have previously been on the pill since I was 16, but to be honest I don't like taking any form of medication unless I really need to and I would love to find a natural alturnative that WORKS! Would love to hear from anyone who has tried this or got any other suggestions. Thank you, Sarah x

[Modified by: Sarah21 on 20 June 2007 14:55:24 ]

Replies

• Hi I have been doing this I have an ovulation calender that tells me when I am fertile and when I am not, just the same as you would have if you were trying. I have been doing this for 7 months now and it has been working. I did this as the pill didnt seem to work with me and i did not like the coil.

I will be honest you have got to be very strict with it and very controlled, it sounds funny but you always seem to want it on the bad days so you have to be quite strong not to. I had a couple of times after coming home from a drink and really wanting it but knowing i couldnt due to ovulation period.

I feel a lot better doing this now, then when i do want to try again i know my patterns and i wouldnt have to wait for any cotaceptive to leave my body.

A lot of people may laugh at these methods and they are definately not guarenteed to work, but the pill didnt work for me.

Hope this helps and I am not mad, lol.

Good luck xxx