Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

Baby Sleeping Bags?

Hi all

Just wondering how many of you are going to be using these or already use them? Its something we've not thought about yet and so we should really!

Can they be used from birth?
What exactly are they good for?

Thanks!
Joo xxx
28+5

Replies

• We will hopefully be using them in a few weeks, for the first time! So really I have no direct practical experience of them. Our thought is that we will try swaddling for the first month or so, and then after that we will use the sleeping bags. I believe the advantage is that babies can't get mixed up in the bedsheets/covers/duvets, which helps prevent cot death. I think they are also good about keeping the baby's temperature regulated because they can't kick the covers off. Would be interested to know if others have understood the same thing image
    ally xx
    36 +2
  • As long as you get the right size, baby cant wiggle down under the covers, and cant kick the covers off - apparently they are safer than sheets and blankets.

• I luuuurve ours, in fact I'm going to buy some more today. Yep they can be used from birth. Lily just kicks blankets off even if we swaddle her (which she hates, anyway).

From my perspective, the best thing about them, apart from the fact that I know she won't wake up cold or suffocating, is that I can put her in one just before her last feed of the evening (as she always falls asleep on the boob then) and then just lay her in the cot with minimal disturbance. She's all snuggly and warm inside already so the cold cot doesn't wake her up.

Oh Joo you're so far along now - so exciting! Angusburger will be here in no time at all!
  • I know!!!

After the scan yesterday its really feeling REALLY real now!

Mum and I are off shopping at the weekend and I need to crack on and get a few more bits sorted, sleeping bags now on the list!

Joo xxx
  • Oh I have another question, well two questions!