Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

Yet more conflicting advice on Breast feeding

13»

Replies

• Thank you MrsSetters. I didnt reply to this thread for praise (although it is always nice! lol) but just to show the emotional effect bf can have on someone who CAN do it physically, and how society can make us feel about it. Like I say, FF would have helped me continue BF had I been willing to try it but even supplementing made me feel like a failure. (I know im not - its taken a while but I know now I needed to FF to help my boys and the 7 weeks was a really good start)
  • Hi, I'm no breastfeeding expert so won't comment on that, but from my experience at work (I have a science background and work in government) I will echo what some others have said about 'be careful what you read in newspapers' PARTICULARLY the Daily Mail! Newspapers tend to pick up ONE scientific study (and often write an article that does not even reflect accurately that research). Government advice is based on a whole load of research and the scientific experts look at exactly what the researchers were doing, focussing on, any limitations of the research etc. One study never PROVES anything it adds to a complex picture. I would really like to be given a pound for every laughable 'scientific' article the Daily Mail have written about my area of work!!!!
  • Sorry if I'm repeating what someone else has already said as I haven't read through all the posts on this, but I felt I had to put my two-penneth in!
    When I heard this on the news this morning I said to hubby - who commissioned this research - the formula companies?!
    Also, humans have developed over thousands of years and breast milk is part of that development - if it was rubbish NONE of us would be here today as we'd have died out as a species ages ago!
    I'll still be choosing breast over bottle.
    xx