Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

Hyperemesis Gravidarum

I'm 16 weeks and 2 days pregnant with twins and I'm still suffering from HG. This is my second pregnancy and I didn't have HG during my first pregnancy, I had a little morning sickness (I was nauseous my whole first trimester and I threw up a few times during my 9th week of pregnancy). This time I had really bad morning sickness, I'm nauseous all day every day, I throw up multiple times a day and somedays I can't keep anything down. I am on medication for my HG but it doesn't seem to be working. I have lost about 20 pounds so far. I am struggling to look after my 5 1/2 month old daughter (and my stepson when he comes to stay with us at the weekend) and work full time. I am a veterinary surgeon and I am struggling to do my job (especially performing surgeries). 
Is anyone else still suffering from HG in their second trimester?

Replies

• Update 
    I’m feeling a lot better now, my HG stopped when I was 20 weeks. I’m now 22 weeks pregnant. 
  • I'm pleased to hear it's better! Can't imagine how hard that must be. I'm only 6 weeks and am dreading getting sick :/
  • @SmithL35
    yeah it was hard, the past couple of months have been so hard but now I’m glad it’s over and I can finally enjoy my pregnancy. 
    I hope you don’t get too sick because I wouldn’t wish what I went through on my worst enemy. 
  • When did it start for you?
  • @SmithL35
    It started when I was 5 weeks pregnant. 
  • It literally sounds like my nightmare, I hate being sick so much. Is that due to you having twins then?
  • I think it is due to having twins because with my daughter I hardly ever got sick, I threw up like 5 times my whole pregnancy. This time I threw up more than 5 times a day. 
  • I had morning sickness from 5 weeks up until 18 weeks and it was baddddd, but I’m 29 weeks now and it does come back now n then, this is my first pregnancy with a little girl 
  • @WelshGirrl