Forum home Family life & relationships Relationships

i feel useless......

hi guys, i just wanted to know if nebody felt the same way i do.....i feel really useless cos im stuk at home with the kids all day and not doin "real money makin work" so my hubby calls it....

i racked my brains out and studied really hard to get my degree, but then fell pregnant straight after i graduated so never got the chance to work. thot id look for work after that but then fell pregnant another two times after that so got well stuk in the house....now my older two will be in school full time after the summer hols so cudve thot abt getin a job then....but now my disabled mother in law is living with us and i cant go to work cos i have to look after her aswell now, and now im just at a real low as to y i put myself here after studying so hard....and yea maybe i cud find a job but il only be pushin myself even harder than i am now lookin after 3 kids, disabled mother in law AND the house hold chores......wat u think?

shud i just get over the fact dat my degree mite aswell b in the bucket rite now....or do u guys think wat i am doin rite now is just as worthwhile and i shud just get on with it, i mean i did put myself in this situation......

ne thots?

Replies

• Work out how many hours you do of everything and calculate how much you would earn if you were paid the going rate. You might not be bringing in money but you are definitely doing work and saving paying for a cleaner, carer and childminder.

If you feel as though you want to work, perhaps start part-time or even volunteering to get some experience and make it clear to your OH you'll need help. This will give you experience to look for other jobs in the future, but you may need more training. Some friends from Uni have decided that teaching fits in well with having a family so have done a 1 year PCGE to do this but it does require a lot of juggling.