Forum home Product Tests Sponsored discussions
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Tell Share Parental Leave how the parenting is shared out in your family: win a £200 voucher

Replies

• I work full time as a teacher so Monday to Friday. My husband works in the tourism/hospitality industry so splits his five days across the week. He looks after the children on a Tuesday to save on childcare fees and we have a family day on Saturday. I’m so grateful that he is able to work around our family as my job is not flexible like that. 
  • My husband is very hands on. After child #1, I returned to work full time, and we found a flexible childminder who was willing to fit in with my husband’s shifts. 
    After child #2 I returned to work three days a week, and the children are in nursery two days a week, with husband or MIL providing care for the third day. 
    Thats said, if there’s illness or appointments it usually falls in me to take time off work as employers seem to expect mums to do this. 
  • So my partner is a stay at home dad.  I had a good job I am very passionate about I manage contractors for oil and gas companies.  We decided I would only take 6 months maternity leave and then chris took on the role of stay at home parent.  It’s fantastic I am able to peruse my career and passion and Elliot and chris have the best relationship.  I also think I have a good understanding of his day to day and how hard it can be so support him a lot by giving him a break when I can.  We love family activities but Elliot and I also have our own play dates to give daddy time to rest.   When we decided to do this it was faced by a lot of fear criticism as it’s not the normal but it works for us and can work for others! Thanks Katie