Forum home Toddlers & older children Toddler
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

nappy/toilet question

Hi everyone, Maddie is 17months on Friday and for the last month or so she's been constantly pulling her nappy off (its summer and hot here so she usually has a nappy and shirt on). I've had to buy pull-ups so she cant undo the nappy, but now she's figure out that she can pull them down if she tries hard enough. If she's wearing pants she now pulls them down then her nappy (this is all if i'm not watching her - eg on my phone or watching tv while she's playing).'

I've been putting her on the toilet for a couple months now, not intending to toilet train, just the once a day before her shower because she always pees in the shower so i started putting her on the loo so she could get used to it in advance of toilet training (which i wasnt planning til she's 2).

Anyway so now i think she is too young to be 'trained' properly, but she is deifnitely old enough to know when she needs to go, as she pulls her nappy off, pats her belly (or as low as she can reach) and says "more?" which is her basic word for everything.

I guess what I want to ask is, how young can you train babies? (not talking about EC here, only from nappies to toilet after 1year). Should I start? My mum says I was trained by 14months, but I would always say "poo" and need a nappy on to do one (but woudl stay in undies all day and go to the loo for a number one).

Replies