Forum home Toddlers & older children Toddler
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Dummies

Hi all. I've seen people posting about dummies before but I could never get my login to work hence the late commenting. I just thought I'd throw in my opinion. I work as a paediatric speech and language therapist and have seen many, many 'dummy casualties.' Dummies are absolutely fine for babies, but as soon as your child starts to verbally communicate PLEASE try your hardest to get rid of the dummy. There are a couple of different speech problems that can occur, The commonest one being when the teech grow around the dummy causing a lisp. This is a particulary sad one because although parents bring their children for assessment, there is little we can do until a child's adult teeth grow in so the child is stuck with the problem until he/she is 6 years old. The other process is 'backing' when the child learns to produce sounds with the back of their tongue instead of the front of their tongue (since the front can't move due to the dummy) This means that words like 'tap' are said as 'cap' or 'duck' as 'guck.'

Really don't mean to scaremonger, and it would seems this doesn't happen to all kids, but if it prevents one person on here having to wait for a long time on an SLT waiting list then it's worth it. If anyone wants to ask any questions or make a comment then that's fine. Thanks for reading.X

Replies