Forum home› Getting pregnant› Trying to conceive
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

O/T Jobs/Careers

Hi

I am 29 and I still don't know what I want to do as a job/career! I trained as a legal secretary and worked in London but couldn't cope with the travelling so the firm I worked for had "offsite typists" working from home, which I have been doing for 2 years now. But I am sooo bored!!

I really want a job that is challenging, rewarding and varied as I do get bored easily!! Since working from home I have got v lazy, don't go out much and don't really see/speak to anyone. Have just joined a gym to get me motivated as I need to do something!!

I know I am v lucky to be working from home and it will obviously be v handy when I have a baby, but I really don't want to be doing this for the rest of my life.

Just wondered what jobs people do and whether you enjoy it etc. Any ideas on jobs would be great too!

Apologies if i have offended anyone as I know many people would love the opportunity to work from home and I know I am lucky.

Replies

• Options
    Just saw this on the front page:

I understand how you feel about working from home, I have the choice to go in or work from home and both my family and friends think I have won the lottery and don't understand why I go in nearly every day. At home I have the feeling that the walls are getting closer after a while and as much as I like talking to DH, I like talking to some other people once in a while.

As for a job suggestions: Before I start suggesting jobs wildly: Do you have a law degree or a college qualification? If you have a college degree, could you extend it with a uni degree? I find that higher qualifications can bring more challenging jobs.

I am working towards a doctorate in health research and it is challenging and very varied and I love it but is probably not for everybody.