Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

How do you decide when the time is right? So broody but career worries

Hi,

I am 27 and moved to LA last year from London with my boyfriend, who is 33. I left my job as a teacher (we moved here with his work - he is the sole earner now), and I am now studying for a masters. We have been together for 3 years now.

I have been feeling extremely broody for a few months, and thinking that all I want to do is start a family. We had a proper discussion about it, and my BF started looking into the logistics of it - health care costs etc, visa issues. He even told his parents, who were delighted we were thinking about it. He had always thought that we needed to be settled in a place and around family before we started trying, so he had assumed that we would wait until we go back to the UK at the end of next year, but after talking to people he said he realised that it wouldn't be impossible to do here, although as we have a few friends here but no family it would be difficult in some respects.

However, I have had different thoughts following this discussion (and the many more that have followed!). I am worried that if I had a child when I do not have a job I would be destroying my chance at a good career in my own right, not that I necessarily know what I want to do - but I have this silly feeling that I wouldn't be "achieving my potential", that thinking about these kinds of things would completely stop once I had a child. I was always an overachiever, and it has been hard not earning any money but my BF being the sole provider, and I feel that if I had a child now this would continue forever maybe - or I would be making it very difficult to ever be able to match what he earns. We can afford to have a baby on just his salary, that's not the problem.