Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

New to TTC — advice?

edited Sep 30, 2019 12:03AM in Trying to conceive
Hello! I’m very new to this process & forum! 
I’ve had the Mirena IUD for a total of 8 years, and stopped getting my period altogether for the past 3 years. After making the decision that we would like to start trying (I’m 27), I had the Mirena removed 8/16/19. My first cycle started 9/7/2019. Based on EWCM, I ovulated around the 25th, but I’m not exactly sure and the EWCM lasted for about three days. We did the BD once during that three day period, so now I’m supposedly in the 2ww. However, I have no idea how long my natural cycle is, so I don’t know how long I’ll be waiting! I was never aware of body changes, cm, or anything reproductive related until I started reading about it in August.

I’m excited that we’re starting to try for our baby, but I’m also realistically pessimistic that this first try was not successful and I anticipate that we will have to try for a while.

So I guess I have a few questions about this TTC process. 
1. For other women on Mirena or similar hormonal BC, especially if you stopped getting your period, how soon after you stopped did you start ovulating and/or conceive? 
2. How long did you TTC before you introduced tracking your temperature or using OPKs or other forms of planning?
3. Has anything helped you remain positive/hopeful through the many months of TTC? I’m assuming the excitement of trying ends quickly after a few cycles of AF...
4. As someone who is TTC for the first time, is there anything else I should know or be prepared for?

Replies

• Options
    It took me about 18 days to ovulate after my withdrawal bleed from my BC

I tried for 2 cycles before I introduced BBT, which I recommend as I got my BFP the month I introduced it. I also used OPKs all 3 months