Forum home Babies Twins & multiples
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Different size twins ??

Hello everyone, I am new to chat.
I am 8wk pregnant with non-identical twins, I am worried because they told me that twin 2 is very small and may not survive. I have researched Vanishing Twin Syndrome and understand what may happen. Has anybody else been through this or even had twins that sarted life at different sizes. Its my first pregnancy.

Replies

• Hi
    Sorry to hear you have had this news. I have ID twins who are different sizes - over a pound different in weight. One of my twins had a growth restriction so I had a c section at 32 weeks. Both girls are now nearly 2 weeks old, still in SCBU but doing brilliantly. They are not on any drugs/machines and have no illnesses. They just need to put on some weight and learn to feed. My birth story is a few posts down if you are interested. Hope your little twin hangs on like mine did.
    Lots of love and best wishes
  • Yes i have read your story and I just thought WOW
  • Glad the girls are doin fine, you all have had such a journey. Dont know if I am strong enough to go thru the same. Can you remember the size of your twins from your first scan ? My T1 is 12mm but T2 is 8mm. Both have heartbeats.